top of page

A Pastor's Love: A Story of How Church Made Me Smile


He stands in his blue jacket outside of the church. He glances back and forth ready to greet anyone who comes near.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed in, ushered in a beautiful way towards the front of the church.

The cross in front and the church members gathered around, I could tell that they were not used to having unknown others come into their church. And yet, it was sweet. They talked to us, each introducing themselves and asking us a few questions. I was surprised it wasn't too awkward. But, I know the drill. Church is comfortable for me.

A Sunday night, on a whim, we decided to go. The walk was close and the people were, in a word, precious.

When the singing began, I noticed that the pastor was watching outside, doing his routine, glancing back and forth for newcomers. He was willing to stand out in the cold to welcome people. Beautiful. And then, just as the music was getting more emotional, he's inside the first set of the double doors, looking at the words of the song. He peered in, closed his eyes, tilted his head upward and sang. From behind a door, I could see the joy in his face. He sang with his congregation in unison. I couldn't help but smile. There was a connection here.

A few seconds later, so simply, the pastor interrupts his singing to check the time on his phone. Next I know, he's out the door pacing back and forth, smiling at the people walking past. Not many walk on this road, but he's looking and searching for those around him.

Later, he uncovered the T-shirt. Jeans. Columbia zip up. Rectangular hipster-type glasses. His arms crossed, he starts the speaking part of the service.

As they opened the small congregation up for what God was doing in their lives, two shared. The genuinity shown through. The pastor shared how at his job--he has a job outside of being a pastor, mind-blowing!--he was asked to pray. Just like he did at work, he opened his hands up and with eyes still open, he prayed and thanked God for what he had done that week. Revolutionary.

The routine continued as the kids gathered at the front before Sunday school where the pastor asked them what they liked about their families, leading into the message for the adults. It was simple, it was lighthearted and exactly what a kid can handle.

With my brain fading from my tired factor, I drifted in and out of the repeated story that he told. Every once in awhile though, I'd remember how adorable he was when he thought that no one was looking.

I smiled and headed down the street away from the setting sun behind me.

Like Simply Experiencing?

Never miss an update.

bottom of page